Log in
Weatherford College

Area educators receive Jack Harvey awards

Aledo ISD, Trinity Christian Academy teachers among honorees


McAnally Middle School teacher Kate Thomas and Trinity Christian Academy’s Becca Perales were among 43 teachers honored when Weatherford College held its annual Jack Harvey Academy of Exemplary Teachers celebration on Friday, Feb. 10, in the Emerging Technologies and Workforce Building.  

Celebrating its 27th year, the Harvey Academy honors exemplary teachers in memory of Professor Emeritus Jack Harvey, who taught at WC for 23 years and was considered among his peers as a "master teacher."   

This year's keynote speaker was Shelley Jeoffroy, the 2023 Texas Teacher of the Year, a fifth-grade math teacher at Otis Brown Elementary School in Irving. Jeoffroy is a WC alumna who completed her Bachelor of Arts in English and Biology and graduate school at the University of Texas in Arlington.  

Jeoffroy has served in a multitude of leadership roles during her 18-year career, including traveling to Kenya, Peru, Mexico and Morocco to serve students directly. 

Thomas was nominated by McAnally Middle School Principal Josh Jenkins.

”When I think of an exemplary professional educator, I think of Kate Thomas,” Jenkins wrote in his nomination. “Kate ensures that all her students learn at high levels. Her classroom is engaging and fun but also demanding. Kate builds outstanding relationships, even with the most difficult middle school students. She is a teacher leader who leads by example and in her own commitment to developing her professional practice. She is a reflective practitioner and regularly adjusts her practice to help fulfill her students' needs. Most importantly, though, Kate is an amazing human being with a kind heart and a positive outlook. The students and all her colleagues benefit from her presence."

The TCA nomination of Perales, who teaches first grade, said: “Perales is exemplary because she is dedicated to a high level of academic excellence for her students and herself. Perales is an expert in phonics-based reading instruction, caring classroom management and exciting student-centered lessons which engage all levels of learning in her classroom. Perales is a caring teacher who exemplifies God's love in all that she does. She has been at TCA for 12 years, and we pray that she remains for many more!"

The 2022-23 Jack Harvey Academy of Exemplary Teachers awardees are: 

  • Aledo ISD – Kate Thomas 
  • Alvord ISD – Jennifer Hall  
  • Azle Christian School – Tori Gustaf 
  • Azle ISD – Katherine Womack 
  • Birdville ISD – Rebekah Beaver 
  • Bluff Dale ISD – Kim Fuller 
  • Bowie ISD – Ethan Adams 
  • Boyd ISD – Kelsey Starnes 
  • Bridgeport ISD – Bridet Stutt 
  • Brock ISD – Rachael Coates 
  • Burleson ISD – Emerald Pittman 
  • Castleberry ISD – Guadalupe Perez 
  • Chico ISD – Bonnie Redwine 
  • Community Christian School – Megan Horton 
  • Crosstimbers Academy – Terri Strickler 
  • Decatur ISD – Sarah Whetsell 
  • Garner ISD – Jennifer Ramsey 
  • Gordon ISD – Angie Ford 
  • Granbury ISD – Kristen Murry 
  • Huckabay ISD – Richard Harvel  
  • Jacksboro ISD – Leah Davenport 
  • Joshua ISD – Julie Tinsley 
  • Lakeside Baptist Academy – Diane Long  
  • Lingleville ISD – Karen Keith 
  • Lipan ISD –Amber Freeman 
  • Millsap ISD – Dr. Eric Moore 
  • Mineral Wells ISD – Leslee Barham
  • Muenster ISD – Tracie Bohl
  • Palo Pinto ISD – Trina Toalson
  • Paradise ISD – Amy Pace
  • Peaster ISD – Carrie Ellis
  • Perrin-Whitt CISD – Sally Bland
  • Poolville ISD – Rachel Wyatt
  • Santo ISD – Shauna Bradshaw
  • Springtown ISD – Candice Adams
  • Stephenville ISD – Shannon DeVivo
  • Tolar ISD – Trisha Bagby
  • Trinity Christian Academy – Becca Perales
  • Victory Christian Academy –Cynthia DeNoon
  • Weatherford Christian School – Jeff Anderson
  • Weatherford College – Kelly Staub
  • Weatherford ISD – Elizabeth Baker
  • White Horse Christian Academy – Deeandra Lambert


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here