1015 Champions Dr. • P.O. Box 1031 • Aledo, TX 76008 • 817-441-7661

News Weatherford and Parker County

Tom Vick of Weatherford elected State Bar of Texas president-elect

Tom Vick
Tom Vick

From the State Bar of Texas

AUSTIN — Texas attorneys have elected Tom Vick of Weatherford as the next president-elect of the State Bar of Texas.

Vick received nearly 55 percent of the 17,935 votes cast during the month-long voting period that ended May 2. His opponent, Michael C. Smith, a partner in the Marshall office of Siebman, Burg, Phillips & Smith, LLP, received 7,879 votes or 44 percent. Write-in candidates composed one percent of the votes cast.

Vick will be sworn in as president-elect during the State Bar’s Annual Meeting on June 16 in Fort Worth and will serve as president of the State Bar of Texas from June 2017 to June 2018.

Vick is a partner in Vick Carney LLP in Weatherford. Board certified in family law, he has published dozens of works on various aspects of the law and lectured widely.

Vick chaired the Texas Bar Foundation Board of Trustees in 2013-2014. He served on the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors from 2005 to 2008 and the Texas Access to Justice Commission from 2006 to 2009. A former mayor of Weatherford, Vick has served as president of both the Texas Academy of Family Law Specialists and the Texas Chapter of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers, as a chair of the State Bar of Texas Family Law Section, and as chair of the Supreme Court Task Force to Expand Legal Services Delivery.

Vick was named the 2008 State Bar of Texas Family Law Section Outstanding Family Lawyer, given the Texas Academy of Family Law Specialists Judge Sam Emison Award, and named the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers’ Fellow of the Year in 2009. He received presidential citations for service to the State Bar in 2008 and 2012.

Vick received a bachelor’s degree from Austin College in Sherman in 1977 and his J.D. from South Texas College of Law in 1981.

In other results, the following individuals were elected to the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors:

Sarah Clower Keathley, Corsicana, District 2; Christy Amuny, Beaumont, District 3; Laura Gibson, Houston, District 4, Place 1; Bradley C. Weber, Dallas, District 6, Place 1; Greg Sampson, Dallas, District 6, Place 5; Curtis Pritchard, Cleburne, District 7, Place 1; Lisa S. Richardson, Round Rock, District 8; Christopher Jake Oddo, Austin, District 9, Place 2; Fidel Rodriguez, San Antonio, District 10; Jeff Chandler, San Angelo, District 15.

Detailed election results are available at texasbar.com/election.

Upcoming Events