Log in

Bearcats earn all-district nods


The 2024 campaign was another good one for the Aledo Bearcats baseball team. Aledo was picked to win District 5-5A in the preseason polls, and they did just that, boasting a 26-13-1 record (10-2 in district). 

The Bearcats swept district series against Brewer, Granbury, Saginaw, Northwest, and Azle to solidify their spot atop the district rankings before heading into the playoffs.

Aledo continued their run in the postseason, sweeping South Hills in the bi-district round to advance to area. 

Colleyville Heritage took Game 1 in the best-of-three area series as the Bearcats came out flat. However, Aledo rebounded to take the final two games of the series by scores of 7-3 and 4-3, as they advanced to the regional quarterfinals against Argyle.

Aledo’s season came to an end in the regional quarterfinals as the Bearcats were swept by Argyle in two games. 

With the season over, 15 Bearcats received all-district recognition for their individual performances in 2024. 

Leading the Bearcats in all-district honors is Brennon Evans. Much improved from his sophomore season in 2023, Aledo’s starting catcher was named All-District Defensive MVP in his junior year.

Four Bearcats earned first-team all-district honors this season. Junior centerfielder Brooks Burdine, senior third baseman Ryan Jones, and starting pitchers Luke Saunders, a senior, and junior Devin Miller were each awarded a nod for their individual performances this season.

Aledo listed five players on the all-district second team. Senior second baseman Weston Nance, senior first baseman Drew Weckel, junior right fielder Luke Trager, junior utility player Johnny Ruflin and senior pitcher Jenson Huffman received accolades.

Senior shortstop and team captain Boyd Thompson, sophomore outfielder Lucas Nawrocki, sophomore pitcher Luke Sandefur, senior outfielder Jake Bumgardner and senior pitcher Eddie Howard were given all-district honorable mention.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here