Skip to main content

The Community News

The Community News • P.O. Box 1031 • 203 Pecan Dr. • Aledo, TX 76008 • 817-441-7661 • FAX: 817-441-5419

 

“Unearthed” Exhibit

January 23, 2012 by Anonymous

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday until Mon Apr 02 2012 .
Sun, 01/29/2012 - 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Sun, 02/05/2012 - 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Sun, 02/12/2012 - 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Sun, 02/19/2012 - 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Sun, 02/26/2012 - 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Sun, 03/04/2012 - 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Sun, 03/11/2012 - 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Sun, 03/18/2012 - 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Sun, 03/25/2012 - 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Sun, 04/01/2012 - 1:00pm - 5:00pm

"Unearthed"

The Doss Heritage and Culture Center will host the “Unearthed” exhibit through April 1 in the Cartwright Gallery, featuring artists E.O. “Ted” Hemenway and Dwain Kelley. Hemenway’s work, Texas Wildwood Originals, started as a hobby but has become a passion for the artist. The natural materials he uses are gathered from ranches all around Texas. Species used are pecan, oak, walnut, bois d’ arc (or simply “bodark” here in Texas), birds-eye maple, cedar and his most used wood-mesquite. Dwain Kelley calls his pieces Sculptural Assemblages and uses a palette of old wood, metals, gold leaf, cloth, glass, rocks, or new materials aged to emulate the look of another time. He describes his work as “grounded in the unearthing of another time.” The DHCC is located at 1400 Texas Drive in Weatherford. Hours are Tuesday - Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday 1 - 5 p.m.

"Unearthed"

"Unearthed"

Sports Calendar

Friday, September 4

  • AHS VS Colleyville Heritage at AHS

    Varsity, 6:30 p.m.

    JV, 5:30 p.m.

    9th A, 5:30 p.m.

    9th B, 6:30 p.m.

  • AHS Varsity VS Noxubee Co. Tigers (Miss.) at Bearcat Stadium, 7:30 p.m.

  • TCA Varsity at CHANT, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 5

  • AHS at Chisholm Trail Freshman Tournament; TBA

Tuesday, September 8

  • AHS VS Richland at AHS

    Varsity, 6:30 p.m.

    JV, 5:30 p.m.

    9th A, 5:30 p.m.

    9th B, 6:30 p.m.

  • AHS Varsity at Everman; 4 p.m.

  • TCA Varsity VS Waco Methodist at TCA, 6:30 p.m.

Thursday, September 10

  • AHS at James Smith Invitational at Midlothian; 8:15 a.m.

  • AHS JV VS Everman at AHS; 4 p.m.

  • TCA Varsity at UME Prep, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, September 11

  • AHS at Granbury

    Varsity, 5:30 p.m.

    JV, 6:30 p.m.

    9th A, 6:30 p.m.

    9th B, 5:30 p.m.

  • AHS Varsity VS Monterrey Tech Boragos at Bearcat Stadium, 7:30 p.m.

  • TCA Varsity VS St. Paul's Preparatory Academy at TCA; 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, September 15

  • AHS VS Everman at AHS

    Varsity, 6:30 p.m.

    JV, 5:30 p.m.

    9th A, 5:30 p.m.

    9th B, 6:30 p.m.

  • AHS Varsity at Crowley; 4 p.m.

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes