Skip to main content

The Community News

The Community News • P.O. Box 1031 • 203 Pecan Dr. • Aledo, TX 76008 • 817-441-7661 • FAX: 817-441-5419

 

“Unearthed” Exhibit

January 23, 2012 by Anonymous

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday and every Saturday until Mon Apr 02 2012 .
Tue, 01/31/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02/01/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 02/02/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 02/03/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 02/04/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 02/07/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02/08/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 02/09/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 02/10/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 02/11/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 02/14/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02/15/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 02/16/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 02/17/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 02/18/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 02/21/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02/22/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 02/23/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 02/24/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 02/25/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 02/28/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02/29/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03/01/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03/02/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03/03/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 03/06/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 03/07/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03/08/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03/09/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03/10/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 03/13/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 03/14/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03/15/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03/16/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03/17/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 03/20/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 03/21/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03/22/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03/23/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03/24/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 03/27/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 03/28/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03/29/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03/30/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03/31/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm

"Unearthed""Unearthed"

The Doss Heritage and Culture Center will host the “Unearthed” exhibit through April 1 in the Cartwright Gallery, featuring artists E.O. “Ted” Hemenway and Dwain Kelley. Hemenway’s work, Texas Wildwood Originals, started as a hobby but has become a passion for the artist. The natural materials he uses are gathered from ranches all around Texas. Species used are pecan, oak, walnut, bois d’ arc (or simply “bodark” here in Texas), birds-eye maple, cedar and his most used wood-mesquite. Dwain Kelley calls his pieces Sculptural Assemblages and uses a palette of old wood, metals, gold leaf, cloth, glass, rocks, or new materials aged to emulate the look of another time. He describes his work as “grounded in the unearthing of another time.” The DHCC is located at 1400 Texas Drive in Weatherford. Hours are Tuesday - Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday 1 - 5 p.m.

"Unearthed""Unearthed"

"Unearthed""Unearthed"

Sports Calendar

Saturday, September 20

  • Aledo Middle School, A Team Tournament at Weatherford Hall, times TBD

  • AHS 9th A and 9th B at Keller Central 9th grade Tournament, times TBA

  • AHS at Marcus II Invitational, Westlake Park in Hickory Creek, Texas 75065, 7:30 a.m.

Monday, September 22

  • Week of Sept. 22, Aledo Middle School at Burleson Hughes

Tuesday, September 23

  • AHS Varsity at Burleson, 3:30 p.m.

  • Aledo Middle School at Granbury Acton MS;
    8C, 5:00;
    8B, 6:00;
    8A, 7:00 p.m.
    *Times are tentative and subject to change. Then length of games will determine the starting times for the rest of the games.

  • Aledo Middle School vs. Granbury Acton MS at Aledo MS;
    7C, 5:00;
    7B, 6:00;
    7A, 7:00 p.m.
    *Times are tentative and subject to change. Then length of games will determine the starting times for the rest of the games.

  • AHS at Crowley;
    Varsity, 6:30 p.m.;
    JV, 5:30 p.m.;
    9th A, 5:30 p.m.;
    9th B, 6:30 p.m.

Wednesday, September 24

  • Aledo Middle School JHG, JHB at Aledo Meet McAnally, 4:45 p.m.

Thursday, September 25

  • AHS JV vs. Burleson at Aledo, 4:00 p.m.

  • Trinity Christian Academy JV at Lakeland Academy, 4:30 p.m. *District Game

  • Aledo Middle School vs. Joshua at Aledo, 7th Gym 1 & 8th MPC;
    7,8 C - 5:00;
    7,8 B - 6:00;
    7,8 A - 7:00 p.m.
    *Times are subject to change. The lengths of games will determine the starting times for the rest of the games.

Friday, September 26

  • AHS Varsity Girls Black at Granbury Girls Tournament, Harbor Lakes through Sept. 27

  • AHS vs. Joshua at Aledo;
    Varsity, 5:30 p.m.;
    JV, 6:30 p.m.;
    9th A, 6:30 p.m.;
    9th B, 5:30 p.m.

  • Trinity Christian Academy JH vs. St. Paul's Lutheran at Aledo Middle School, 5:30 p.m. *District Game

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes