Skip to main content

The Community News

The Community News • P.O. Box 1031 • 203 Pecan Dr. • Aledo, TX 76008 • 817-441-7661 • FAX: 817-441-5419

 

“Unearthed” Exhibit

January 23, 2012 by Anonymous

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday and every Saturday until Mon Apr 02 2012 .
Tue, 01/31/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02/01/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 02/02/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 02/03/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 02/04/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 02/07/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02/08/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 02/09/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 02/10/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 02/11/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 02/14/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02/15/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 02/16/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 02/17/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 02/18/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 02/21/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02/22/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 02/23/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 02/24/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 02/25/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 02/28/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02/29/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03/01/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03/02/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03/03/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 03/06/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 03/07/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03/08/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03/09/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03/10/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 03/13/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 03/14/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03/15/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03/16/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03/17/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 03/20/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 03/21/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03/22/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03/23/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03/24/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 03/27/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 03/28/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03/29/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03/30/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03/31/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm

"Unearthed"

The Doss Heritage and Culture Center will host the “Unearthed” exhibit through April 1 in the Cartwright Gallery, featuring artists E.O. “Ted” Hemenway and Dwain Kelley. Hemenway’s work, Texas Wildwood Originals, started as a hobby but has become a passion for the artist. The natural materials he uses are gathered from ranches all around Texas. Species used are pecan, oak, walnut, bois d’ arc (or simply “bodark” here in Texas), birds-eye maple, cedar and his most used wood-mesquite. Dwain Kelley calls his pieces Sculptural Assemblages and uses a palette of old wood, metals, gold leaf, cloth, glass, rocks, or new materials aged to emulate the look of another time. He describes his work as “grounded in the unearthing of another time.” The DHCC is located at 1400 Texas Drive in Weatherford. Hours are Tuesday - Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday 1 - 5 p.m.

"Unearthed"

"Unearthed"

Sports Calendar

Saturday, February 6

  • AHS 9th B vs. Burleson at AHS; 12 p.m.

  • AHS Varsity Ladycats Scrimmage at L.D. Bell; 11 a.m. & 12:30 p.m.

Monday, February 8

  • AHS vs. Mansfield Legacy Scrimmage at AHS;

    JV- 4 p.m.

    Freshman- 6 p.m.

  • AHS Varsity at Mansfield Legacy Scrimmage; 4 p.m.

  • AHS JV Ladycats at Crowley; 6 p.m.

  • AHS JV at Crowley; 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, February 9

  • AHS at Burleson;

    Varsity- 6:30 p.m.

    JV- 5 p.m.

    9th A- 8 p.m.

  • AHS Ladycats at Burleson;

    Varsity- 8 p.m.

    JV- 5 p.m.

    9th- 6:30 p.m.

  • AHS Ladycats scrimmage at Mansfield Legacy;

    Varsity- 6:15 p.m.

    JV- 5 p.m.

  • AHS Varsity Ladycats vs. Burleson at AHS; 6 p.m.

  • AHS Varsity vs. Burleson at AHS; 7:45 p.m.

Friday, February 12

  • AHS vs. Granbury at AHS;

    Varsity- 6:30 p.m.

    JV- 5 p.m.

    9th A- 5 p.m.

  • AHS Varsity at Birdville HS Tournament; all day

  • AHS Varsity Ladycats at Granbury; 6 p.m.

  • AHS Varsity at Granbury; 7:45 p.m.

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes