Skip to main content

The Community News

The Community News • P.O. Box 1031 • 203 Pecan Dr. • Aledo, TX 76008 • 817-441-7661 • FAX: 817-441-5419


Un-Mandate: Hawkins unseated by Glasgow 516-66

May 14, 2011 by Randy Keck

Willow Park
Willow Park voters spoke in a big way Saturday night when they overwhelmingly elected Marvin Glasgow over incumbent mayor Kenneth Hawkins. Glasgow won the election with 88.66 percent of the vote.

In the race for Place 1 on the Willow Park City Council, Richard Neverdousky likewise received the lion's share of votes over Tim Koirtyohann to replace the exiting Barry Tatum. Neverdousky received 489 votes (86.24%) to Koirtyohann's 78 (13.76%).

Gene Martin ran unopposed for Place 2, receiving 418 votes.

Annetta Mayor Bruce Pinckard survived a concerted attempt to unseat him, winning over challenger Bruce Moore with 93 votes to Moore's 84.

Chuck Sheridan eked out a win over Larry Wood in the race for Annetta Place 3, garnering 90 voted to Wood's 87.

Farrar Patterson won the race for Place 5 on the council, defeating Christopher Moore 98-75.

Hudson Oaks
Long-time city council member Bill Young was unseated in Hudson Oaks by Brian Lixey, who received 160 votes to Young's 116.

Incumbent Place 1 city council member Jerry Clinton was unseated by challenger Heidi Wilder. Wilder received 728 votes (58.95%) to Clinton's 507.

In the race for Place 2, Jeff Robinson won with 716 votes (56.87%) to Eric Matthews' 481 and Darwin Yeary's 62.

Weatherford College
In the race for Weatherford College Board of Trustees Place 7, incumbent Jack DeShazo was defeated by challenger Luke Haynes. Haynes received 1,317 votes (56.04%) to DeShazo's 1,033.

Elaine Carter ran unopposed for Place 2, receiving 2,076 votes. Frank Martin was unopposed for Place 6 with 2,076 votes.

Sports Calendar

Tuesday, December 1

  • AHS Ladycats vs. Springtown at Aledo;

    Varsity, 6:30 p.m.
    JV, 5 p.m.
    9th, 5 p.m.

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes