Skip to main content

The Community News

The Community News • P.O. Box 1031 • 203 Pecan Dr. • Aledo, TX 76008 • 817-441-7661 • FAX: 817-441-5419


Call goes out for alumni award nominations

January 3, 2011 by Randy Keck

By Linda Bagwell
Special to The Community News

Weatherford College is inviting the public to submit nominations for two of WC’s highest honors - Alumnus of the Year and Distinguished Alumni. The individuals selected will be recognized at Homecoming festivities on April 2.

Anyone can submit a nomination. All nominations must be submitted on an official nomination form available in the WC Institutional Advancement Office in the Mince Administration Building on the Weatherford campus, 225 College Park Drive. Forms also are accessible on the Alumni Association Web site at

Deadline for submission is 5 p.m., Tuesday, Feb. 1.
Each nominee must:

1. be a former student of Weatherford College in which WC was a significant part of his/her educational experience

2. be recognized in his/her particular field for outstanding performance in that area

3. have made contributions to society through volunteer, religious or charitable organizations, and

4. have demonstrated a sense of loyalty to Weatherford College, in years since attending the College, through any actions deemed appropriate by the selection committee.

The WC Alumnus of the Year Award was established in 1967. Past honorees include former Speaker of the House Jim Wright; General William Hood Simpson; former WISD Superintendent Joe Tison; former Dartmouth University professor Dr. James Tatum; philanthropists James and Dorothy Doss; attorney Jack Borden, attorney and business leader Roy Grogan and many others. The 2010 Alumnus of the Year was Tom Pritchard.

The WC Distinguished Alumni Award was established in 1994. Past honorees include former Miss Texas Gloria Gilbert Barron; attorney I.B. Hand; former U.S. Treasury Chief of Staff Jim Wilkinson; author and philanthropist Stedman Graham; business leader Perry Mader and many others. Those honored in 2010 were James L. Harris and Jon Vandagriff.

A complete list of all honorees may be found at

The awardees will be chosen by committees made up of past honorees, Alumni Association leaders, WC Board of Trustees members, faculty and others. For more information about the nomination or selection process, interested persons may contact the Institutional Advancement Office at 817-598-6275, or e-mail

Sports Calendar

Tuesday, December 1

  • AHS Ladycats vs. Springtown at Aledo;

    Varsity, 6:30 p.m.
    JV, 5 p.m.
    9th, 5 p.m.

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes