Skip to main content

The Community News

The Community News • P.O. Box 1031 • 203 Pecan Dr. • Aledo, TX 76008 • 817-441-7661 • FAX: 817-441-5419

 

Syndicate contentDoss Heritage and Culture Center

Events from the Doss Heritage and Culture Center
1400 Texas Drive
Weatherford, Texas 76086
817-599-6168

Expressions From the Soul

October 10, 2011 by Anonymous

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday and every Saturday until Thu Jan 05 2012 .
Tue, 10/11/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 10/12/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 10/13/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 10/14/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 10/15/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 10/18/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 10/19/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 10/20/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 10/21/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 10/22/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 10/25/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 10/26/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 10/27/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 10/28/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 10/29/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 11/01/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 11/02/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 11/03/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 11/04/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 11/05/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 11/08/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 11/09/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 11/10/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 11/11/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 11/12/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 11/15/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 11/16/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 11/17/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 11/18/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 11/19/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 11/22/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 11/23/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 11/24/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 11/25/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 11/26/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 11/29/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 11/30/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 12/01/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 12/02/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 12/03/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 12/06/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 12/07/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 12/08/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 12/09/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 12/10/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 12/13/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 12/14/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 12/15/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 12/16/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 12/17/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 12/20/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 12/21/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 12/22/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 12/23/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 12/24/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 12/27/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 12/28/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 12/29/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 12/30/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 12/31/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 01/03/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm

One of the most anticipated exhibits of the year is on display at the Doss Heritage and Culture Center until Jan. 3, 2012.

Expressions From the Soul features artists such as Linda Sale, Cathy Quest, Jane Conkling, Marilyn Brumley, Judy Mason, Chris Snoddy, Martha Spurlock, Carol Noeding, Don Collins, Jim Friddle, Gail Sloan, Bill Barrick, Dale Ousley, Mike Wells, Don Collier, Satch Grimley, Beth Prichard, Linda Henry, Marcia Matcham, Jenn Parker, Pat Stroud and Sherri Woodard Coffey.

“All of the Expressions From the Soul artists are from Texas and are professional artists, which means they earn their living from their art. There will be oil, acrylic and watercolor paintings, but also metal sculpture, jewelry, glass, and pottery,” said Exhibit Curator C.B. Williams.

“We’ve been scouring galleries, art shows and outdoor festivals over the past year for artists to include as part of this exhibit. We looked for quality artists. And, like years past, if you love it you can take it home with you,” Williams added.

All of the pieces will be on sale with prices ranging from $50 to $30,000.

“This has been such a popular show that we had to limit artists to no more than three pieces,” said Heather Castagna, Executive Director of the DHCC. “The best part of purchasing a piece of art, is that a portion of the proceeds benefit our programs. You get quality artwork that helps our community.”

Candlelight gift market

October 4, 2011 by Anonymous

Event Date: 
Fri, 12/09/2011 (All day) - Sun, 12/11/2011 (All day)

The Doss Heritage and Culture Center will host a Candlelight Gift Market Dec. 9-11 in conjunction with the Parker County Heritage Society’s annual Candlelight Tour of Homes on Dec. 10. The market kicks off with a preview night on Dec. 9, and continues from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. on the following day. On Sunday, the gift market will be open from noon to 5 p.m. With only a few spaces left, the DHCC has cut the price of vendor spaces $75 while they last.
“The Doss Heritage and Culture Center is again a stop on the annual Weatherford Candlelight Tour of Homes. After visitors tour our exhibits, they can also get some of their holiday shopping completed. We will have a wide array of specialty items, local vendors and holiday items for sale,” said Betsy Pedigo, Operations Manager.

The Doss Heritage and Culture Center is located at 1400 Texas Drive in Weatherford. For more information about vendor space or about the event, call Betsy Pedigo at 817-599-6168, email events@dosscenter.org or visit www.dosscenter.org.

Museum Day

September 19, 2011 by Anonymous

Event Date: 
Sat, 09/24/2011 (All day)

The Doss Heritage and Culture Center will offer free admission on Saturday, September 24 as part of a national Museum Day program sponsored by the Smithsonian Institute. The Museum will display works by local artisans in a show hosted by the Parker County Art Association and an exhibit called Truth in Illusion.

Bag Lady Luncheon

July 26, 2011 by Anonymous

Event Date: 
Wed, 09/07/2011 - 11:30am - 1:30pm

Christi ProctorChristi Proctor
“Trading Spaces” star designer Christi Proctor will speak on design at the Parker County “Bag Lady Luncheon from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 7 at the Doss Heritage and Culture Center in Weatherford.

The event benefits the senior center and Meals on Wheels.

Truth in Illusion

July 6, 2011 by Anonymous

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday and every Saturday until Sun Oct 02 2011 .
Fri, 07/08/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 07/09/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 07/12/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 07/13/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 07/14/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 07/15/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 07/16/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 07/19/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 07/20/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 07/21/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 07/22/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 07/23/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 07/26/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 07/27/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 07/28/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 07/29/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 07/30/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 08/02/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 08/03/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 08/04/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 08/05/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 08/06/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 08/09/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 08/10/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 08/11/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 08/12/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 08/13/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 08/16/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 08/17/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 08/18/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 08/19/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 08/20/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 08/23/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 08/24/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 08/25/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 08/26/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 08/27/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 08/30/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 08/31/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 09/01/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 09/02/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 09/03/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 09/06/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 09/07/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 09/08/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 09/09/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 09/10/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 09/13/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 09/14/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 09/15/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 09/16/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 09/17/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 09/20/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 09/21/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 09/22/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 09/23/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 09/24/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 09/27/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 09/28/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 09/29/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 09/30/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm

The Truth in Illusion exhibit runs July 8 - September 30 at the Doss Heritage and Culture Center in Weatherford. Artists Michael Bane and Pamela Stern “are playing with your perception of reality, or maybe your paradigms of reality with their art. You have to really look to see what’s real,” said C.B. Williams, Curatorial Director of the DHCC.
The DHCC is located at 1400 Texas Drive in Weatherford. Hours are Tuesday - Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday 1 - 5 p.m. Admission is $5 for adults, $3 for children and seniors. For more information, visit www.dosscenter.org.

Tapestry Exhibit

July 6, 2011 by Anonymous

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday and every Saturday until Thu Sep 01 2011 .
Wed, 07/06/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 07/07/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 07/08/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 07/09/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 07/12/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 07/13/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 07/14/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 07/15/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 07/16/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 07/19/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 07/20/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 07/21/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 07/22/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 07/23/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 07/26/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 07/27/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 07/28/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 07/29/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 07/30/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 08/02/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 08/03/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 08/04/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 08/05/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 08/06/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 08/09/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 08/10/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 08/11/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 08/12/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 08/13/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 08/16/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 08/17/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 08/18/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 08/19/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 08/20/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 08/23/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 08/24/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 08/25/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 08/26/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 08/27/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 08/30/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm

The Doss Heritage and Culture Center is hosting “Connecting Threads – Tapestries to Masks” through Aug. 31. The exhibit features handwoven rugs and tapestries of masterweaver Sherri Woodard Coffey and jewelry and masks from fiber artist Pat Souder. “The colors are so vibrant and the masks have so much personality in each one. You have to see them to believe them,” said Betsy Pedigo, Operations Manager. The DHCC is located at 1400 Texas Drive in Weatherford. Hours are Tuesday - Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday 1 - 5 p.m. Admission is $5 for adults, $3 for children and seniors. For more information, visit www.dosscenter.org.

Jewelry and Wire Wrapping Classes

June 14, 2011 by Anonymous

Event Date: 
Thu, 06/16/2011 - 10:00am

The Doss Heritage and Culture Center will continue its series of jewelry/wire wrapping classes on Thursday, June 16 with a wire wrapped adjustable ring.

Workshops are available from 10 a.m.-1 p.m. or 6-9 p.m. Summer Fun Day on Wednesday, 6/15 will be Whittling. The age for this camp is 14 and up and the hours are from 10-5.

For more information call 817-599-6168.

http://www.community-news.com/dossevents

Jewelry/Wire Wrapping

June 6, 2011 by Anonymous

Event Date: 
Repeats every week until Fri Jul 01 2011 .
Thu, 06/02/2011 - 10:00am - 1:00pm
Thu, 06/09/2011 - 10:00am - 1:00pm
Thu, 06/16/2011 - 10:00am - 1:00pm
Thu, 06/23/2011 - 10:00am - 1:00pm

Karren Lucas will teach jewelry/wire wrapping classes in June at the Doss Heritage and Culture Center. Times are 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. or 6 to 9 p.m.

Each class is $25 which includes all materials for the class, but not tools. A list of tools needed is available at time of registration or on our website www.dosscenter.org.

6/2 Spiral Wire Links Bracelet & Earrings
6/9 Wire for Sound Earrings
6/16 Wire Wrapped Adjustable Ring
(Intermediate Level Classes - must have attended one beginner class to register)
6/23 - Sculpted Pendant
6/30 - Wire Wrapped Pendant

For more details on each class, visit www.dosscenter.org or call 817-599-6168.

Needlework Classes

June 6, 2011 by Anonymous

Event Date: 
Sat, 06/11/2011 - 1:00pm - 4:00pm

The Doss Heritage and Culture Center will have needlecraft classes on June 11 and 25 from 1 to 4 p.m. Each class is $10 which includes all materials. Needlecraft classes are for all skill levels.

6/11 - Counted Cross Stitch Pincushion - Teacher Barbara Patterson
6/25 - Cross Stitch Initial Ornament - Teacher Mendie Cannon

Visit the Center to register for a class and view samples of the finished pieces each class will be making or view samples online at www.dosscenter.org or on the Facebook page.

Registration for DHCC Creative Connections classes must be made one day prior to start of class and spaces are limited. Watch for new classes in July including creating a ribbon pincushion, zentangle (an art experience) and book binding.

Summer Fun Days

June 6, 2011 by Anonymous

Event Date: 
Repeats every week until Fri Jul 29 2011 except Wed Jul 06 2011. Also includes Sat Jul 16 2011, Sun Jul 17 2011, Sat Jul 23 2011.
Wed, 06/08/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 06/15/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 06/22/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 06/29/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 07/13/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 07/16/2011 - 12:00am - 7:00am
Sun, 07/17/2011 - 12:00am - 7:00am
Wed, 07/20/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 07/23/2011 - 12:00am - 7:00am
Wed, 07/27/2011 - 10:00am - 5:00pm

Classes for Kids to Stretch Their Imaginations

The Doss Heritage and Culture Center will have Summer Fun Days during June and July. Most fun days begin at 10 a.m. and end at 5 p.m. in the downstairs classroom area.

Participants will need to bring a sack lunch and be ready for a full day of fun. A museum tour, drinks and snack will be provided.

The cost is $25, $30 or $35 per fun day attended. Please call 817-599-6168 for more information, or to reserve your spot. Call the Friday before the fun day you’d like to attend so they'll have plenty of supplies on hand. Class sizes are limited. Come to one or all. Visit the DHCC website at www.dosscenter.org or the Facebook page for more information.

June
6/8 - Wax/Insoluble Painting – Ages 8 and up

Sports Calendar

Friday, April 25

Tuesday, April 29

  • Aledo Girls Golf will compete in the State Tournament at Onion Creek GC in Austin.

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes