AHS Ladycats vs. Springtown at Aledo;
Varsity, 6:30 p.m.
JV, 5 p.m.
9th, 5 p.m.
To comply with current pesticide handling laws, those who use certain pesticides must receive training on the proper use, storage, and disposal of these chemicals. A license is required of anyone who purchases and/or applies a restricted-use or state-limited use pesticide for the production of an agricultural commodity. Restricted-use pesticides are classified by the Environmental Protection Agency. The Texas Department of Agriculture classifies state-limited use pesticides. Product labels indicate restricted-use pesticides, while state regulations list state-limited use chemicals.
The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service provides private applicator introductory courses that can prepare applicators to qualify for a license by passing a test. Anyone wishing to become a licensed private applicator can attend a training Wednesday, Sept. 10, at the Parker County Extension office, 604 North Main, Weatherford. The training program is scheduled for 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. An 80-page private applicator training manual and a copy of the current pesticide and herbicide laws and regulations are available at the Extension office for $40 (cash or check). It is recommended that these be purchased prior to the day of the training to begin familiarizing with the material. There is an additional $10 fee (cash or check) the day of the training.
After the training class, the Texas Department of Agriculture will contact applicants with instructions on how to schedule a test. Licenses expire in five years but can be renewed by obtaining 15 Continuing Education Units during that period. For questions, call the Parker County Extension office at 817-598-6168.